People

Who we are, what we do and how to reach us.

OCLC Research staff have a wide range of expertise (including library science, computational linguistics, economics and computer science, among others), and use these specializations in innovative ways.

Program officers work directly with OCLC Research Library Partners to ensure that they benefit from their affiliation.

OCLC Research staff also:

  • consult individually with member and partner staff to understand their needs and priorities, and seek out opportunities to advance shared agendas through collaboration with OCLC Research and OCLC Research Library Partner institutions
  • organize events, collaborative projects, and working groups
  • create opportunities to participate in standards and best practices development, and pursue other professional interests; these programs enable staff to develop expertise they can apply to their institutions.

Rick Bennett

Consulting Software Engineer

Rick_Bennett@oclc.org
 

 

Eric R. Childress

Consulting Project Manager

eric_childress@oclc.org
@echildress

 

Patrick Confer

Web Projects Manager

conferp@oclc.org
 

 

Lorcan Dempsey

Vice President and Chief Strategist

dempseyl@oclc.org
@lorcanD

 

 

Ricky Erway

Senior Program Officer

erwayr@oclc.org
@rickyerway

 

Ixchel Faniel, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

ixchel_faniel@oclc.org
 

 

Jean Godby, Ph.D.

Jean Godby, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist

godby@oclc.org
 

 

Erin Hood

Research Support Specialist

hoode@oclc.org
 

 

Kerre A. Kammerer

Consulting Software Engineer

kammerer@oclc.org
 

 

Susanne Krouse

Executive Assistant to the Vice President

krouses@oclc.org
 

 

Brian Lavoie, Ph. D.

Research Scientist

lavoie@oclc.org
 

 

Ralph LeVan

Ralph LeVan

Senior Research Scientist

levan@oclc.org
 

 

Janet Mason

Administrative Coordinator

mason@oclc.org
 

 

Jeanette McNicol

Executive Assistant

mcnicolj@oclc.org
 

 

James Michalko

Vice President, OCLC Research Library Partnership

michalkj@oclc.org
 

 

Jeff Mixter

Software Engineer

mixtert@oclc.org
 

 

Edward T. O'Neill, Ph.D.

Edward T. O'Neill, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist - Retired

edwardtoneill@gmail.com

 

Melissa Renspie

Senior Communications Officer

renspiem@oclc.org
@mrenspie

 

Devon Smith

Consulting Software Engineer

smithde@oclc.org
 

 

Roy Tennant

Senior Program Officer

tennantr@oclc.org
@rtennant

 

Roger Thompson, Ph.D.

Roger H. Thompson

Consulting Software Engineer

thompson@oclc.org
 

 

Jenny Toves

Software Architect

tovesj@oclc.org
 

 

Titia van der Werf

Senior Program Officer

titia.vanderwerf@oclc.org
 

 

Carrie Vass

Research Assistant

vassc@oclc.org
 

 

Diane Vizine-Goetz, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist

vizine@oclc.org
 

 

Harry R. Wagner

Consulting Software Engineer

wagnerh@oclc.org
 

 

Bruce Washburn

Consulting Software Engineer

bruce_washburn@oclc.org
@btwashburn

 

Jeff Young

Jeff Young

Software Architect

jyoung@oclc.org
 

We are a worldwide library cooperative, owned, governed and sustained by members since 1967. Our public purpose is a statement of commitment to each other—that we will work together to improve access to the information held in libraries around the globe, and find ways to reduce costs for libraries through collaboration.