JUN 4

RLP Leadership Roundtable: Resourcing and advocacy in special collections

In this 90-minute discussion, RLP affiliates will discuss their current resourcing and advocacy priorities, strategies, and challenges.

This event has passed. Registration provided to nominated individuals only

Description

Advocacy skills are a vital part of any special collections leader's portfolio, and rarely are any of us operating in an environment where we have all the resources we need or would like. This discussion will focus on how you identify and make the case for your needs, and the challenges you face, with the hope that sharing obstacles and strategies can help us all.

The following questions which will guide our discussion:  

  1. What are your top priorities for additional resources, whether they be staff, collections, technology, or something else?  
  2. Where do you expect decreasing resources and increasing resources in the next five years? 
  3. Can you share an advocacy success story? An advocacy challenge?

Following a traditional roundtable format, representative(s) from each institution will offer brief comments about their interests and activities related to the topic. These are not formal presentations; the focus is on information sharing. We will monitor time to make sure everyone is able to share and to allow time for discussion.

Facilitator

Chela Scott Weber, Senior Program Officer, OCLC Research

Who should attend

  • This opportunity is offered exclusively to RLP member institutions.
  • Participants must be nominated by their RLP institutional partner representative, and most participants are in leadership/strategy roles, such as directors, associate deans, associate university librarians, heads of specialized units or libraries, or similar. 

Dates and times

Each leadership roundtable will be offered at four separate times, to accommodate affiliates across many time zones. We request that participants from each institution select one session to attend as a group.

Registration will be made available separately to nominated individuals.

  • Monday, 3 June, 1-2:30pm Eastern / 6-7:30pm BST 
  • Tuesday, 4 June, 11am-12:30pm Eastern / 4-5:30pm BST 
  • Tuesday, 4 June, 7-8:30pm Eastern / 9-10:30am AEST  
  • Wednesday, 5 June, 10-11:30am Eastern / 3-4:30pm BST

Outputs

A post-event summary will be published on Hanging Together, the OCLC Research blog.

Date

04 June 2024

Time

11:00 AM – 12:30 PM
Eastern Daylight Time, North America [UTC -4]

Registration will be made available separately to nominated individuals.

This roundtable discussion will not be recorded, however, a post-event summary will be published on Hanging Together, the OCLC Research blog.