Visiting Scholars Program

The OCLC Visiting Scholars Program ran 1978-2003 and allowed experienced scientists, educators, and administrators with demonstrated research capabilities to pursue projects on site at OCLC. Visiting scholars conducted research in areas of mutual interest to themselves and OCLC so that both benefited from a close working relationship.

Past visiting scholars and researchers

Year Name/Affiliation
2002-2003 Mitsuharu Nagamori
Assistant Professor, University of Library and Information Science, Tsukuba, Ibaraki Japan
(Visiting Scientist)
2002 Jian Qin
Assistant Professor, School of Information Studies, Syracuse University
2001-2002 Tukaram Kumbar
Scientist-D, Information & Library Network Centre ( INFLIBNET ), Ahmedabad, India
2001-2002 Nobuko Kishi
Associate Professor, Tsuda College, Kodaira, Tokyo, Japan
2001 Elza Gousseva
Assistant Professor, Department of Library Science, Moscow State University of Culture and Arts
(Visiting scholar of the Junior Faculty Development Program of the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.)
2000 Karen M. Drabenstott
Associate Professor, University of Michigan, School of Information
1999-2000 Hwa-Wei Lee
Dean Emeritus, Ohio University Libraries, Athens, Ohio
1997-1998 Traugott Koch
Senior Librarian, Electronic Information Services, LUND University Library, Development Department NetLab, Lund, Sweden
1996-1997 John V. Richardson, Jr.
Associate Professor, the University of California at Los Angeles, Graduate School of Education and Information Studies
1993-1994 Soichi Taniguchi
Research Associate, University of Library and Information Science Ibaraki-ken, Japan
1992-1993 Mark T. Kinnucan
Associate Professor, School of Library and Information Science, University of Western Ontario, Elborn College, London, Ontario, Canada
1992-1993 Dik L. Lee
Associate Professor, Computer and Information Science, The Ohio State University
1991-1992 Karen M. Drabenstott
Associate Professor, School of Library and Information Studies, The University of Michigan
1988-1989 Roland Hjerppe
Group Leader, LIBLAB Library and Information Science Research Laboratory, Department of Computer and Information Science, and University Library, Linkoping University, Linkoping, Sweden
1987-1988 Abraham Bookstein
Professor, Center for Information Studies, University of Chicago
1987-1988 Paul B. Kantor
President, Tantalus, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio
1986-1987 Francis L. Miksa
Professor, Library and Information Science, University of Texas at Austin
1985-1986 Martin Dillon
Professor, Library Science, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
1985 Terry Noreault
Assistant Professor, Information Science, University of Pittsburgh
1984 Allan Pratt
Professor, Graduate Library School, College of Education, University of Arizona
1983-1984 Mary Jo Lynch
Director, Office for Research and Statistics, American Library Association, Chicago, Illinois
1982-1983 Nancy B. Olson
Associate Professor, Audiovisual Cataloger, Mankato State University, Mankato, Minnesota
1981-1982 Donald J. Sager
Administrative Librarian, Elmhurst Public Library, Elmhurst, Illinois
1980-1981 Pauline A. Cochrane
Professor, School of Information Studies, Syracuse University
1979-1980 William E. McGrath
Dean of Library Services, University of Lowell, Lowell, Massachusetts
1978-1979 Edward T. O'Neill
Associate Professor, School of Information and Library Studies, State University of New York at Buffalo

OCLC Awards

Through a series of educational programs, annual awards, scholarships and fellowships, the OCLC cooperative provides financial support for those beginning their library careers and for established library leaders who excel in their profession.

More Awards from OCLC

Comments or Questions?

We welcome comments and questions; use the button below to send us a message via the OCLC Research feedback form. 

Contact Us