SHARES ILL Practitioners Council

Note: The work of the SHARES ILL Practitioners Council has been completed and the group has been disbanded.

The purpose of the ILL Practitioners Council was to strengthen the sense of community, shared purpose, effectiveness, and opportunity within SHARES. It focused on needs and contributions of front-line ILL staff at SHARES institutions. The Practitioners Council was charged to:

  • Strengthen the sense of community and shared purpose within SHARES by increasing practitioners' awareness of the program's policies and guidelines, promoting buddy systems and regional meetings, highlighting achievements of effective SHARES members, and soliciting feedback on policy, initiative, and training issues.
  • Monitor performance indicators of SHARES participants (such as turnaround time and reasons for negative responses) and make recommendations to the SHARES Executive Group for follow-up action.
  • Serve as an advocacy committee for SHARES ILL practitioners, fielding complaints about un-SHARES-like behavior, suggestions for alteration of SHARES policies or guidelines, or any complaints about the OCLC Research Library Partnership, and making recommendations for action to the SHARES Executive Group.
  • Take a leading role in organizing the twice-yearly SHARES ILL Practitioners meetings at American Library Association conferences.
  • Give more SHARES ILL practitioners (including non-librarians with administrative ILL duties) an opportunity to participate in the access partnership on a broader, more visible level.

Seven to twelve SHARES participants from general and special members (at least one from outside the US) were elected by their peers and served for two years.

Carol A. Brigham
Temple University
cbrigham@temple.edu
Melinda Kent
Harvard Law School
mkent@law.harvard.edu
Debbie Heiden
University of Michigan
heiden@umich.edu
Aimee Lind
Getty Research Institute
alind@getty.edu
Helen Insinger
Binghamton University
insinger@binghamton.edu
Margarita Moreno
National Library of Australia
mmoreno@nla.gov.au
Carol Jones
Yale University
carol.jones@yale.edu
Kristina Rose
New York University
kr37@nyu.edu


OCLC Research staff liaison:
Dennis Massie
Program Officer
dennis_massie@oclc.org

We are a worldwide library cooperative, owned, governed and sustained by members since 1967. Our public purpose is a statement of commitment to each other—that we will work together to improve access to the information held in libraries around the globe, and find ways to reduce costs for libraries through collaboration.