CONTENTdm Support & Training

Welcome to the support and training site for CONTENTdm. These pages contain a variety of materials to help you use CONTENTdm.

Help Files

The CONTENTdm help files cover all aspects of the software, from using the Project Client, to configuring the Server, to customizing the Website.

Training

The CONTENTdm training pages house PDF software tutorials, the schedule of upcoming web-based trainings, and an archive of recorded training videos.

Releases

The Releases page provides information on the latest CONTENTdm software releases.

CONTENTdm Technical Office Hours

Are you a current CONTENTdm user who has technical questions about CONTENTdm? Shane Huddleston, CONTENTdm Product Manager, holds office hours on the third Thursday of the month, starting at 2:00 pm Eastern (11:00 am Pacific).

WebEx information for this session

CONTENTdm Community Insight Series:

Using CONTENTdm APIs to Customize Your Site

December 13, 2016
3:00 pm Eastern | 12:00 pm Pacific

Register for this session

Using CONTENTdm's API (Application Programming Interface) suite, developers can unlock the full potential of their metadata and images. Andrew Bullen of the Illinois State Library has created a website called A Cookbook of Methods for Using CONTENTdm APIs, which gives program examples of how to use the CONTENTdm API to customize the look of your image collection. During this one-hour presentation, Andrew Bullen will discuss his API Cookbook and show how to use PHP and Perl code to harness the power of the CONTENTdm APIs.

CONTENTdm and WorldCat Digital Collection Gateway Overview

January 17, 2017
2:30 pm Eastern | 11:30 am Pacific

Register for this session

This presentation provides an overview of CONTENTdm® and the WorldCat® Digital Collection Gateway. It includes discussion of the functionality built into the CONTENTdm Administration modules, including Collection and Website Configuration. A live demonstration using the very latest OCLC Hosted CONTENTdm version includes adding digital items to a Collection both with the web-based “add” function. Both simple and compound objects are used to build and demonstrate browsing and searching the CONTENTdm website.

Because CONTENTdm supports the Open Archives Initiative’s protocol for metadata harvesting, (OAI-PMH) published collections may be shared through the WorldCat sync and OAI functions. The presentation ends with a brief look at CONTENTdm item metadata as displayed in WorldCat after being harvested through the Gateway according to this standard protocol.