Ed Summers named recipient of 2015 Frederick G. Kilgour Award

This award, which is jointly sponsored by OCLC and the Library & Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is given for research relevant to the development of information technologies, especially work that shows promise of having a positive and substantive impact on any aspect(s) of the publication, storage, retrieval and dissemination of information, or the processes by which information and data is manipulated and managed.

Ed Summers is being recognized for his work building communities of practice around software for libraries and archives. He has been working for two decades helping to build connections between libraries and archives and the larger communities of the World Wide Web. He is currently the Lead Developer at the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), University of Maryland.

As the 2015 Kilgour Award recipient, Mr. Summers receives $2,000, a citation and travel expenses to attend the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco, where the award will be presented on 28 June 2015.

Members of the 2014-15 Frederick G. Kilgour Award committee are:

  • Tao Zhang, Purdue University (chair)
  • Erik Mitchell, University of California, Berkeley (past chair)
  • Danielle Cunniff Plumer, DCPlumer Associates, LLC
  • Holly Tomren, Drexel University Libraries
  • Jason Simon, Fitchburg State University
  • Kebede Wordofa, Austin Peay State University
  • Roy Tennant, OCLC liaison

See the Frederick G. Kilgour Award page and the ALA news release for more information.

For more information:

Roy Tennant
Senior Program Officer
OCLC Research

Melissa Renspie
Senior Communications Officer
OCLC Research