2021 Global Council election results announced


The 2021 elections for OCLC Regional Council delegates are complete. Congratulations to the individuals who will begin three-year terms as delegates on the Global and/or Regional Councils starting 1 November 2021.

Americas Regional Council Delegates to Global Council

Deirdre Brennan
Executive Director
Reaching Across Illinois Library System (RAILS), USA

Trevor A. Dawes
Vice Provost for Libraries and Museums
University of Delaware, USA

Christine Korytnyk Dulaney
Chief, Germanic and Slavic Division
Library of Congress, Washington, DC, USA

Theresa Embrey
Director of Library Services
Pritzker Military Museum and Library, Illinois, USA

Joseph Hafner
Associate Dean, Collection Services
McGill University Library and Archives, Québec, Canada

Laura Johnson
Director of Library Services
Livingstone College, North Carolina, USA

Linda Kopecky
Associate Dean, University Libraries and Teaching and Learning Technologies
University of Nevada, Reno, USA

Michael Levine-Clark
Dean of Libraries
University of Denver, Colorado, USA

Sandra Gisela Martin
Library Director
Universidad Católica de Córdoba, Argentina

Anne Cooper Moore
UNC Charlotte, North Carolina, USA

Tricia Lawrence Powell
Director User Services and Conservation
National Library of Jamaica, Jamaica

Lisa Rosenblum
Executive Director
King County Library System, Washington, USA

Lynette Schurdevin
Library Director
Rio Rancho Public Libraries, New Mexico, USA

Xuemao Wang
Vice Provost for Digital Scholarship, Dean and University Librarian
University of Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Kelvin Watson
Executive Director
Las Vegas-Clark County Library District, Nevada, USA

Reina Williams
Associate Dean of University Libraries and Research
University of Dallas, Texas, USA

Asia Pacific Regional Council Delegates to Global Council

Shuqing Chu
Zhejiang Library, China

Muh-Chyun Tang
Associate University Librarian
National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Khasiah Zakaria
Chief Librarian
University of Malaya, Malaysia

EMEA Regional Council Delegates to Global Council

Maria Frahm-Arp
Executive Director of the Library and Information Centre
University of Johannesburg, South Africa

James Hodgkin
University Librarian, University of Gloucestershire
Cheltenham, United Kingdom

Silvia Redondo
Head of Joaquim Folch i Torres Library
Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain

Jan Simane
Library Director
Max-Planck-Institut Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz, Italy

In addition to welcoming new delegates, new leadership for each of the Regional Councils will also begin on 1 November 2021. The Global Council Executive Committee for 2021–2022 is:

  • Global Council Chair & ARC Chair: Earl Givens Jr., Library Director, Catawba College (North Carolina, USA)
  • Global Council Vice Chair & EMEA Vice Chair/Chair-Elect: Evi Tramantza, Director of Libraries and Archives, Anatolia College (Greece)
  • ARC Vice Chair/Chair-Elect: Hong Yao, Technical Services Director, Queens Public Library (New York, USA)
  • EMEA Chair: Sarah Hurter-Savie, Library Director, Nice Sophia Antipolis University (France)
  • APRC Chair: Constance Wiebrands, University Librarian, Edith Cowan University (Australia)
  • APRC Vice Chair/Chair-Elect: Muh-Chyun Tang, Associate University Librarian, National Taiwan University (Taiwan)

OCLC Global and Regional Councils

The OCLC Global Council plays an important part in OCLC’s governance structure and is comprised of 48 member-elected delegates, each representing one of three regions: Americas (ARC); Europe, Middle East, and Africa (EMEA); and Asia Pacific (APRC). Delegates work on behalf of the global membership to reflect the needs of member institutions, provide insights to help inform future strategic directions, and provide leadership for the election of six representatives on OCLC’s Board of Trustees.

Learn more about OCLC Councils