Celebrate innovation in librarianship

Six librarians receive awards sponsored by OCLC

OCLC honored several librarians for innovation and creativity during the OCLC President's Luncheon June 26 at the 2016 ALA Annual Conference and Exhibition in Orlando, Florida, USA. OCLC supports community programs that advance and recognize excellence in librarianship. Through a series of annual awards, scholarships and fellowships, the cooperative provides financial support for those beginning their library careers and for established library leaders who excel in their profession.

The 2016 awards were announced at the luncheon and the recipients in attendance were recognized. The award winners are:

Dr. June Abbas

Dr. June Abbas
Professor of Library and Information Studies
University of Oklahoma: Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology

Paige Andrew

Paige Andrew
Maps Cataloging Librarian
Pennsylvania State University: Margaret Mann Citation


Tina Baich
Associate Librarian and Head of Resource Sharing and Delivery Services
Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis: Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian

Giao Luong Baker

Giao Luong Baker
Digital Imaging Manager
University of Southern California Libraries: OCLC/LITA Minority Scholarship in Library and Information Technology


Nancy Bolt
Nancy Bolt & Associates: John Ames Humphry/OCLC Forest Press Award for International Librarianship


Robert Newlen
Chief of Staff
Library of Congress: Melvil Dewey Medal