Celebrating librarianship

Six innovative librarians receive awards sponsored by OCLC

OCLC honored several librarians for innovation and creativity during the OCLC President's Luncheon June 28 at the 2015 ALA Annual Conference and Exhibition in San Francisco, California, USA. OCLC supports community programs that advance and recognize excellence in librarianship. Through a series of annual awards, scholarships and fellowships, the cooperative provides financial support for those beginning their library careers and for established library leaders who excel in their profession.

The 2015 awards were announced at the luncheon and the recipients in attendance were recognized. The award winners are, left to right, starting in the top row:

  • Magda El-Sherbini, Head of Cataloging at The Ohio State University Libraries: Margaret Mann Citation
  • Young-In Kim, Graduate Student, Syracuse University: OCLC/LITA Minority Scholarship in Library and Information Technology
  • Dr. Hwa-Wei Lee, Chief, Asian Division (Retired) at the Library of Congress: Melvil Dewey Medal
  • Lars Leon, Resource Sharing Librarian and Head of Organizational Development, University of Kansas Libraries: Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian
  • Jane Mirandette, Founder and Program Director, Hester J. Hodgdon, “Libraries for All” Program: John Ames Humphry/OCLC Forest Press Award for International Librarianship
  • Ed Summers, Lead Developer at the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities, University of Maryland: Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology