Managing Users

When you manage users, you can view their CONTENTdm administration rights, edit their rights or delete those rights. To learn more about managing users, see the Managing User Rights tutorial.

Learn about:

  1. Viewing User Rights
  2. Editing User Rights
  3. Deleting Users

Viewing User Rights

All users with a user account on the CONTENTdm Server can use the Project Client to add items.

This is in addition to any collection or server administrative rights they have been granted.

Administrator rights are assigned to existing users on the CONTENTdm Server. Administrator rights are assigned to existing CONTENTdm user accounts. In Windows, you must have a Windows account that has execute permissions on the cgi-bin/admin directory. To do this, add the account to the local Windows CONTENTdm Administrators group. On Linux, you must have an Apache account to be a CONTENTdm user.

The words in bold are used in the Web interface to indicate user rights.

Administrative Right
What It Allows:
Approve items and build index Users can add items by using the CONTENTdm Administration Add Items interface and custom Website form. Users can approve items and build index. User can view a collection.
Approve items and build index

Edit metadata
Users can add items via the Web interface. Allows user to approve items in pending queue and index collections. Allows user to edit metadata in both the Project Client and the Web interface, (changes are effective once the collection is re-indexed) but items cannot be deleted. Allows user to find and replace metadata (effective once a collection is re-indexed) and view collection.
Approve items and build index

Edit metadata

Delete and unlock items
Users can add items by using the CONTENTdm Administration Add Items interface and custom Website form. Allows user to approve items in pending queue and index collections. Allows user to edit metadata in both the Project Client and the Web interface and delete items. (The changes are effective once the collection is re-indexed.) Also allows user to find and replace metadata (effective once a collection is re-indexed), unlock items that have been frozen from previous editing, and view collection.
Edit metadata Users can add items by using the CONTENTdm Administration Add Items interface and custom Website form. Users can edit metadata using the Project Client (changes are effective once the collection is re-indexed). Allows users to find and replace metadata. (The changes are effective once the collection is re-indexed.) Users cannot delete items. Users can view a collection.
Select access rights Users can add items by using the CONTENTdm Administration Add Items interface and custom Website form. Allows user to specify access rights when combined with Edit metadata and/or Configure settings and field properties. Users can view a collection.
Delete and unlock items Users can add items by using the CONTENTdm Administration Add Items interface and custom Website form. Allows user to delete items when combined with Edit metadata. (The changes are effective once the collection is re-indexed.) Allows user to unlock items that were locked because they have been edited or deleted.
Configure settings and field properties Users can add items by using the CONTENTdm Administration Add Items interface and custom Website form. Allows user to change settings and field properties within a collection. With this right, add new field, enable and administer controlled vocabulary, enable full text searching, and define full resolution settings. Enables users to configure collection-specific viewer settings.
Run reports and export metadata Allows user to run reports and export data into a text file or a Microsoft® Excel file.
Setup global Website

Users can access the Website Configuration Tool and configure CONTENTdm Website at a global level and for all collections.

Note: Website rights for specific collections allows users to configure only at the collection level for the selected collections (collection-level configurations override any global configurations).

To view rights:

  1. Open CONTENTdm Administration and select the Server tab.

  2. Click Users. A list of all users with CONTENTdm rights is shown.

  3. Click View next to the user whose rights you wish to review.

  4. View the user's rights. If the user has special permissions for different collections, the collections will be listed separately.

From this page, you can edit user rights, delete user, or navigate to another area within CONTENTdm Administration.

Editing User Rights

Before you edit user rights view an existing user's rights. The screen to edit user's rights shows current administrative rights below the collection selection section.

When you edit a user's rights, you are replacing existing user rights with your new selections. If you change rights for one collection, checks in the check boxes indicate existing user rights. However, if you select more than one collection, all of the check boxes will be cleared so that you will unable to view current user rights in the same section. Scroll down the page to view current collection rights.

For instance, if you are editing a user's rights for two collections, use the CTRL button to select both collections. The checkboxes indicating user rights will be empty. The rights that you select will be the rights for both collections. If you select Approve (items, build indexes) and Edit (metadata), these two rights are the only rights that the person has for the selected collections.

To remove collection rights, you must select the collections for which you are removing rights, even if you are selecting all collections.

To edit user rights:

  1. Open CONTENTdm Administration and select the Server tab.

  2. Click Users. A list of all users with CONTENTdm rights is shown.

  3. Click Edit next to the user whose rights you wish to edit.

  4. Select server rights, if desired. You cannot delete Administer user rights for the account from which you are currently using.

  5. Click Save changes.

  6. Select the collection that you are editing. Use Ctrl to select more than one collection.

  7. Select the collection rights that you wish the user to have. The rights are indicated by one word. The bold words in the above table indicate the word that is used in the interface. If you wish to see current collection rights, scroll to the section entitled Current collection rights.

  8. Click Save changes. The view settings page displays.

To remove collection rights:

Follow the above instructions for Steps 1-6. Do not select any collection rights. Click Save changes. The view settings page will show that you have no collection rights for the selected collections. If you select All Collections, you will be asked whether you want to remove all rights for all collections. If you do, click OK. If you don't, click Cancel.

Deleting Users

When you delete users using the CONTENTdm Administration interface you are deleting their specific CONTENTdm Administration rights; you are not deleting them from the server.

To delete users:

  1. Open CONTENTdm Administration and select the Server tab.

  2. Click Users. A list of all users with CONTENTdm rights is shown.

  3. Click Delete next to the user whose rights you wish to delete. A dialog box asks you if you are sure you want to delete the user.

  4. Click OK.

The user list no longer lists the user that was deleted.