Managing Collections

You must have CONTENTdm server administrator user rights to access Server Administration. If you do not have any server administration rights, the server tab will not be hyperlinked.

Learn about:

  1. Deleting a Collection
  2. Moving a Collection

Deleting a Collection

When deleting a collection, CONTENTdm deletes references to the collection but keeps the actual collection files and the directory alias on the Web server intact. An administrator must destroy those files on the machine and remove the Web server directory alias to fully remove the data from the machine.

To delete a collection:

  1. Open CONTENTdm Administration and select the Server tab.

  2. Click Collections.

  3. Find the row that contains the collection that you wish to delete and click Delete. A confirmation message appears.

  4. Click OK.

Once the collection is deleted, it will be removed from the collections list.

Moving a Collection

The collections are listed in the order that they are created unless you choose to move collections within the collection list.

The order of collections in this list mirrors their display on the website on the following:

  • Home page: Collection list
  • Browse All page: Collection list in the left navigation pane

For more information about the display and configuration of the Home page, see Page Types.

To change the collection order:

Use the drop-down list beside each collection name to select the new position of the collection.

The list immediately changes to reflect the new positioning.