Sharing a Project

You can share projects so that more than one Project Client user can work on a project. Projects can be designated as shared when they are initially created. Sharing a project saves all project information, including items and settings, to a shared directory. Sharing projects is beneficial for some workflows.

When deciding whether to share a project, note that only one user at a time can work with a shared project. Any item edits and settings changes are saved to the shared project. If different users will often need to have slightly different settings to work with the same collection, set up separate projects instead of sharing. This also would enable users to work simultaneously.

Note: Default project settings match collection configuration settings set on the server, using CONTENTdm Administration. Some Project Client settings will override these defaults. For more information, see About Project Settings.

Shared projects are saved to a location on your network that other users can access. That location is determined when a new project is created. A shared icon is used in the Project Client to show the shared status:

After a project is created as the type shared, the network location can be shared with other users who need to work with it. They need this location to open the shared project.

To learn the location of your shared project:

  1. On the Project Client Home tab with the shared project open, click Edit Project Settings. The Project Settings Manager displays with the General page selected.

  2. In the About section of the page, find the Shared Status, which displays the shared location. This exact network path is what other users will need to know to open the shared project from other Project Clients.

    Note: If you have created a shared project but do not want it to be shared any longer, you can export the project settings, delete the shared project from your Project Client and import the settings again as a new, unshared project.