Organizations worldwide are using CONTENTdm to create thousands of outstanding digital collections and to provide easy access to their unique holdings.
This month, three collections are featured on the OCLC website: Fort Collins History Connection’s Old Town and Disneyland's Main Street USA collection, National Fairground and Circus Archive collection and A Vision for the New Josephinum (1924–1931) collection.
Fort Collins History Connection
Richard Francaviglia, author of the 1996 book Main Street Revisited: Time, Space, and Image Building in Small-Town America, visited the Walt Disney Archives in 1994 to conduct research for his book and was surprised to learn that Harper Goff, a former resident of Fort Collins, had used Fort Collins and Walt Disney's hometown, Marceline, Missouri, as inspiration and models for Disneyland's Main Street USA. Mr. Francaviglia decided he would visit these towns and view some of the extant buildings that were copied for Disneyland. The basic information that he used for his research in Fort Collins was an interview with Harper Goff that was published in The 'E' Ticket: Collecting Theme Park Memories, Winter 1992–93.
The National Fairground and Circus Archive collection
The University of Sheffield
Established in 1994, the National Fairground & Circus Archive is a collection of recognized importance. Housed in the Western Bank Library, it is a unique collection of photographic, printed, manuscript and audiovisual material covering all aspects of the culture of traveling show people, their organization as a community, their social history and everyday life, and the artifacts and machinery of fairgrounds.
Pontifical College Josephinum
This collection includes documents and photographs related to the vision, planning and construction of the Pontifical College Josephinum. A vision for the future of the Josephinum began to take shape in the early 1900s. The growth of the community and physical limitations of the property at 18th and Main Streets in downtown Columbus, Ohio, made relocation a desirable option. A rebuilding fund was established in 1911 but it would not be until 1924 when the 120-acre Duffy Farm located on North High Street was purchased for the site of the new Josephinum. A ceremonial groundbreaking took place on June 5, 1929, followed by the blessing of the cornerstone on October 20, 1929. The construction continued until the new facility was dedicated on November 26, 1931.