United States

  • English

Celebrating librarianship

Six innovative librarians receive awards sponsored by OCLC

A special video tribute to six innovative librarians.

OCLC recognized several librarians for innovation and creativity during the OCLC President's Luncheon June 29 at the 2014 ALA Annual Conference and Exhibition in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA.

The OCLC cooperative invests in programs that advance librarianship and recognizes that librarians must continue to develop their skills and knowledge to meet the challenges of a demanding library environment in a rapidly changing information age. Through a series of annual awards, scholarships and fellowships, the cooperative provides financial support for those beginning their library careers and for established library leaders who excel in their profession.

Skip Prichard, OCLC President and CEO, announced the following 2014 awards via a special video tribute and recognized the award recipients in attendance:

  • Melvil Dewey Medal: Robert Wolven, Associate University Librarian for Bibliographic Services and Collection Development, Columbia University
  • OCLC/LITA Minority Scholarship in Library and Information Technology: Olivia Danielle Dorsey, Graduate Student, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Margaret Mann Citation: Sara Shatford Layne, Librarian Emerita, UCLA
  • John Ames Humphry/OCLC Forest Press Award for International Librarianship: Shali Zhang, Dean of Libraries and Professor, University of Montana
  • Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology: Michael Buckland, Emeritus Professor, School of Information, University of California, Berkeley
  • Virginia Boucher–OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian: David Larsen, Head of Access Services & Assessment, University of Chicago

More information about OCLC annual awards and scholarships is available on the OCLC website.